Lake Superior State University Logo
Lake Superior State University




 Men's Ice Hockey

Schedule/Results | Roster | News | Archives| Letterwinners| Records| Hall of Fame Members

Go to to cast your vote

Jan. 25, 2007

ST. PAUL, Minn. - Who will be this year's winner of the Hobey Baker Award as college hockey's top player? The official announcement will come in April at the Frozen Four in St. Louis, Mo. But now is the time for college hockey fans to get cast their votes.

The immensely popular fan voting phase is now open by visiting the redesigned Hobey Baker website: Click on the Vote for Hobey Baker icon and follow the prompts to make your selection from this year's outstanding crop of college hockey players.

Jeff Jakaitis

Lake Superior State senior goaltender
Jeff Jakaitis is a potential finalist, and he needs your help to make it to the final ballot. The Lakers' fourth-year netminder currently leads the nation in save percentage at .940. He was listed on CSTV's All-America pre-season watch list after earning Central Collegiate Hockey Association first-team honors in 2005-06.

This first phase of fan balloting will run through March 4, 2007. Phase two of fan balloting will then begin on March 15 from the list of Top Ten Hobey Baker finalists. The fans' vote accounts for a full 1% of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year's award recipient.

Award criteria includes candidates mimicking the superlative character traits put forth by the award's namesake, Hobey Baker, a first-rate World War I combat flyer better known as America's greatest amateur athlete in his day. Award candidates must exhibit strength of character both on and off the ice and must contribute to the integrity of his team and display outstanding skills in all phases of the game. Consideration should also be given to scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.

The 2007 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on Friday, April 6, 2007 during the NCAA Frozen Four Championships in St. Louis, MO. The 27th annual award announcement honoring college hockey's top player will be televised live on ESPNU.

Lake Superior State Men's Ice Hockey
  Printer-friendly format   Email this article