Lake Superior State University Logo
Lake Superior State University




 Men's Ice Hockey

Schedule/Results | Roster | News | Archives| Letterwinners| Records| Hall of Fame Members

Jakaitis is named a CCHA Scholar-Athlete for the third straight year

Jeff Jakaitis

March 7, 2007

FARMINGTON HILLS - Lake Superior State senior goaltender Jeff Jakaitis was named a Central Collegiate Hockey Association Scholar-Athlete for the third straight year. The CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be announced during the CCHA Awards Banquet on Thursday, March 15.

Jakaitis has a 3.47 grade point average while majoring in business. He is ranked 12th nationally in goals-against at 2.25 and second in save percentage at .931. He will leave LSSU as the Lakers' all-time leader in save percentage and shutouts.

Other CCHA Scholar-Athletes include sophomore Trevor Hyatt (Alaska), junior Jon Erickson (Bowling Green State), senior Eric Veseley (Ferris State), junior Nathan Davis (Miami), senior Tim Cook (Michigan), sophomore Jeff Lerg (Michigan State), senior Michael Eickman (Nebraska-Omaha), senior Matt Maunu (Northern Michigan), senior Jason Paige (Notre Dame), senior Mathieu Beaudoin (Ohio State) and senior Ryan Mahrle (Western Michigan).

Eickman was named league's scholar-athlete of the year in 2005-06.

Note: Jakaitis also finished first in the fan voting on with 63,468 votes. RIT's Jocelyn Guimond was second with 59,193 votes. The second phase of fan voting will begin after the top 10 finalists, as selected by the 59 Division I coaches and fans, are announced on March 15.

Lake Superior State Men's Ice Hockey
  Printer-friendly format   Email this article