Lake Superior State University Logo
Lake Superior State University




 Men's Ice Hockey

Schedule/Results | Roster | News | Archives| Letterwinners| Records| Hall of Fame Members

Two Lakers make All-CCHA Second Team

Derek A. Smith

March 7, 2007

FARMINGTON HILLS - Lake Superior State senior goaltender Jeff Jakaitis and junior defenseman Derek A. Smith were named to the All-Central Collegiate Hockey Association Second Team.

Smith is ranked third in the CCHA in points by a defenseman with 9-17--26. He is the Lakers' assist leader and is second on the team in plus/minus at +5.

Jakaitis is the conference leader in save percentage at .931 and has a goals-against average of 2.25. He is currently ranked second nationally in save percentage and is expected to become the Lakers' all-time leader in that category as well as career shutouts.

The All-CCHA First Team included forwards T.J. Hensick (Michigan), Mike Santorelli (Northern Michigan) and Scott Parse (Nebraska-Omaha), defensemen Jack Johnson (Michigan) and Matt Hunwick (Michigan), and goaltender David Brown (Notre Dame).

Other members of the second team included forwards Nathan Davis (Miami), Kevin Porter (Michigan) and Ryan Jones (Miami), and defenseman Sean Collins (Ohio State).

Hensick and Parse became the seventh and eighth players in CCHA history to earn first-team honors for the third time.

Jakaitis earned first-team honors in 2005-06.

Lake Superior State Men's Ice Hockey
  Printer-friendly format   Email this article