Lake Superior State University Logo
Lake Superior State University




 Men's Ice Hockey

Schedule/Results | Roster | News | Archives| Letterwinners| Records| Hall of Fame Members

Laker goaltender Jeff Jakaitis is named to the CCHA All-Conference First Team

Jeff Jakaitis

March 9, 2006

FARMINGTON HILLS, Mich. - Miami and Nebraska-Omaha each had a pair of players named to the Central Collegiate Hockey Association's First-Team All-Conference squad, marking the second time in three years that Miami has placed two players on the First Team and the first time since 2001 that the Mavericks have had two players on the First Team. Northern Michigan and Lake Superior each had a player named to the First Team. The teams, which include six sophomores, four juniors and two seniors, were selected by a vote of the league's head coaches and are based on performance in league games. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players. It is the fourth straight year that five or more underclassmen (freshmen and sophomores) made All-Conference.

Nebraska-Omaha junior forward Scott Parse, the CCHA's leading scorer with 42 points in conference play, and linemate and sophomore forward Bill Thomas, who led the conference in goals with 21, along with Miami sophomore forward Nathan Davis, were First Team selections up front. Parse was a unanimous pick. Miami junior defenseman Andy Greene, just the sixth player in league history elected to the First Team three times, was also a unanimous selection, while Northern Michigan senior blueliner Nathan Oystrick, a First Team honoree last year, received seven first-place votes. Lake Superior State junior goaltender Jeff Jakaitis, who was the Perani Cup overall Champion, is the first Laker All-Conference honoree since the 1999-2000 campaign.

Lake Superior State Men's Ice Hockey
  Printer-friendly format   Email this article